Cookie Consent by Skip to main content

The Vodacom Bulls under-21 team to face the Leopards in the semi-final of the 2022 SA Rugby under-21 Cup has been confirmed by Coach, Hayden Groepes.

The game will take place on Friday 14 October 2022, at Loftus Versfeld, B-field, with kick-off scheduled for 13h00pm CAT.

“Throughout the competition, our side has been consistent in putting in good performances. The boys have played with great belief and played for one another, now they another opportunity to do that and look to advance to the finals,” commented Groepes commented on his selection.

The Cebo Dlamini and Tiaan Fourie (co-captains) led side goes into the fixture having won four of their five group stage games, sitting top of the log standings, 2 points ahead of the DHL Western Province – who will play the Lions in the other semi-final at the Villager RFC, in Cape Town.

Despite their good showing, which includes wins on both their home and away leg against their final-four rivals, the Leopards, the Vodacom Bulls coach knows to not let his guard down.

“We know to expect a tough game against the Leopards, the boys know that everything is on the line and both sides will want to advance to the penultimate game. I am confident that tomorrow these boys will put up their hands and grab the moment with both hands, it should be a good match to watch for everyone in the stands.”

Hayden has selected a strong side that includes ‘Mr. Consistent’, Quewin Nortje. The winger/full back will wear jersey 11 whilst Danwich Beukes makes his much awaited return start since being side-lined through injury. He will start as blind-side flanker. The side has the likes of Juann Else, Mawande Mdanda and Neil le Roux to call upon from the bench.


1. Cebo Dlamini (c), 2. Tiaan Lange, 3. Sebastian Lombard, 4. Hanno Theunisen, 5. Marco De Witt, 6. Danwich Beukes, 7. Ghudian Van Reenen, 8. Hardus Rothmann, 9. Tiaan Fourie (c), 10. Rowan Cloete, 11. Quewin Nortje, 12. Carlton Banies, 13. Munashe Dukuzwa, 14. Tharquinn Manuel, 15. Franco Knoetze


16. Corne Lavagna, 17. Juann Else, 18. Mawande Mdanda, 19. Corne Beets, 20. Neels Volschenk, 21. Neil le Roux, 22. Compion von Ludwig, 23. Gert Steyn

You can livestream the match through the SuperSport Schools website and mobile application, or by following this link:

Leave a Reply