Cookie Consent by Skip to main content

The Vodacom Bulls ran in 11 tries against Zebre Parma on their way to setting a new Vodacom United Rugby Championship points-scoring record in round 17 of the 2022/23 campaign. The Tshwane-based team registered a resounding 78-12 victory over their Italian visitors at the Emirates Airline Park on Saturday (15 April) afternoon.

Jake White’s men, looking to cement their position in the playoffs and avoid missing out on Champions Cup action next season, signalled their intent from the word go. Springbok, Canan Moodie opened the Vodacom Bulls account as early as the second minute of the game. Two minutes later, Embrose Papier followed suit and the Tshwane-based team looked hungry for more as they went over the line for three more first-half tries, accompanied by a penalty which gave them a commanding 36-5 lead going into the break.

Upon resumption of play, the herd needed just 8 minutes to continue from where they left off in the opening stanza. Going on to score six more tries as they set a new record for the competition, for the most points scored in a match.

The Vodacom Bulls in the end registered a confidence-boosting victory as they prepare for the final game of the regulation phase of the season, against Leinster at Loftus Versfeld next Saturday.

Vodacom Bulls Scorers:

Tries: Canan Moodie x3, Embrose Papier x2, Ruan Vermaak x2, Gerhard Steenekamp, Marco van Staden, Bismarck du Plessis, Chris Smith

Conversions: Johan Goosen x10

Penalty Goal: Goosen.

VODACOM BULLS vs ZEBRE PARMA STARTING XV: 1. Gerhard Steenekamp, 2. Johan Grobbelaar, 3. Mornay Smith, 4. Ruan Vermaak, 5. Ruan Nortje (c), 6. Marco van Staden, 7. Cyle Brink, 8. Elrigh Louw, 9. Embrose Papier, 10. Johan Goosen, 11. David Kriel, 12. Harold Vorster, 13. Stedman Gans, 14. Canan Moodie, 15. Kurt-Lee Arendse

VODACOM BULLS IMPACT SQUAD: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. Dylan Smith, 18. Francois Klopper, 19. Janko Swanepoel, 20. WJ Steenkamp, 21. Keagan Johannes, 22. Chris Smith, 23. Cornal Hendricks

MANAGEMENT: Jake White – Director of Rugby, Nollis Marais – Breakdown, Russell Winter – Forwards, Chris Rossouw – Backs, Werner Kruger – Scrum Coach, Pine Pienaar – Defense Coach, Andre Volsteedt – Strength & Conditioning, John-William Meyer – Technical Analyst, Dr. Herman Rossouw – Team Doctor, Lance Lemmetjies – Senior Physiotherapist, Kyle Meyer – Physiotherapist, Elias Bennett – Team Manager, Zama Dyidi– Logistics Manager

Leave a Reply