Cookie Consent by Skip to main content

The Vodacom Bulls have named their playing lineup for their Vodacom United Rugby Championship round 7 clash, against the Cell C Sharks of Durban, to be played at Loftus Versfeld Stadium, in Pretoria.

The great South African duel, a replay of last season’s quarterfinal clash, is scheduled for Sunday 30th October, with kick-off set for 15:00pm.

In the forwards, Walt Steenkamp swaps jerseys with Janko Swanepoel, whilst WJ Steenkamp replaces Elrigh Louw at 8. At the back, Zak Burger will run out at half-back as Embrose Papier will start from the bench. Sbu Nkosi (11) returns after spending time with the Springboks, with David Kriel at 14. Johan Goosen slots in at 15 with Chris Smith occupying 10, whilst Harold Vorster (12) will pair up with Cornal Hendricks (13) in the midfield.

Speaking of his selection, BBCo. Director of Rugby, Jake White said: “It will be good to have (both) Chris and Johan in the starting lineup, giving us a good idea of what that combination can do for us going forward. We know that the Sharks will be kicking at us and to have Johan under the ball, will have them thinking,”

“They (Sharks) are bringing six forwards, with an unbelievable team; the pressure is on them because they are a marquee team, worth millions. They have more of a point to prove,”

Asked about Marcelle Coetzee’s last match before departing for Japan, and the appointment process of a new captain, White said: “We have been going through a handover period with the new incoming leadership group, as Marcel leaves, and the team has been working through the transition period to make sure that we are in a good space by the time the two guys leave,”

“I think it will be refreshing to have a new voice and for the change to happen during the break is ideal for us because we can reflect on the seven games past and see how we go about our strategy going forward” the Vodacom Bulls mentor concluded.

The Super Sunday battle is expected to be an electrifying local North versus South derby, playing for a cause bigger than just rugby, raising awareness and much-needed funding for CANSA and PinkDrive, to help continue their work in providing lifesaving screenings and early intervention.

Tickets for the match are available for as little as R25.00 from ticketpro, with fans encouraged to arrive dressed in pink. On the day, there will be a food, drink and music entertainment market on the D-field. With plenty entertainment, including a kiddies play area, making it the perfect place to be for the whole family.

1. Gerhard Steenekamp, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 3. Francois Klopper, 4. Walt Steenkamp, 5. Ruan Nortje, 6. Marcell Coetzee (C), 7. Marco van Staden, 8. WJ Steenkamp, 9. Zak Burger, 10. Chris Smith, 11. Sbu Nkosi, 12. Harold Vorster, 13. Cornal Hendricks, 14. David Kriel, 15. Johan Goosen

16. Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 17. Simphiwe Matanzima, 18. Mornay Smith, 19. Janko Swanepoel, 20. Ruan Vermaak, 21. Embrose Papier, 22. Stravino Jacobs, 23. Wandisile Simelane

Leave a Reply