Cookie Consent by Skip to main content

The Vodacom Bulls Under-20 side has made several changes to their team that will face the Toyota Free State Under-20 side in their SA Rugby Under-20 Cup fixture at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday morning.

The Tshwane-based side will be looking to continue their run of good form and results which has seen them win three of their four matches so far this season to claim the second spot on the log, behind log leaders, DHL Western Province U20, who have played one more game than the Vodacom Bulls U20 side.

The Toyota Free State U20 team will be out to bounce back from their recent defeat to the Cell C Sharks U20’s in their last outing and will be eager to add to their single victory in the four matches they have played so far.

The Vodacom Bulls U20 team, which will be led by Sonwabo Sokoyi as captain, will see Regan Izaks and Rowan Cloete being added to the starting backline, while in the forwards pack new personnel who earn starting berths will include Cameron Hanekom, Willie Potgieter, Neels Volschenk, Ruan Delport, Sivuyise Mabece, Johan Lombard and Juann Else.

“This is yet another important game for the Vodacom Bulls U20 team, on the back of four other challenging matches we have played so far,” Vodacom Bulls U20 head coach, Wessel du Plessis, said ahead of the game.

“Our aim is to do as best as we can in this competition and to go as far as possible. That will mean that we continue working hard behind the scenes at training, and the boys have been responding well so far.

“We will need to be on top of our game again this weekend when we face a hungry Toyota Free State U20 side that can never be underestimated. We know how dangerous they can be as a team and the talent that they have. We expect a tough but exciting match when we meet them on Saturday.”

The match will kick-off at 11h30 and will act as a precursor to the Vodacom United Rugby Championship match between the Vodacom Bulls and Ulster Rugby which will kick-off a t 14h00.

The Vodacom Bulls U20 team to face Toyota Cheetahs U20 is:

STARTERS (15-1): Regan Izaks, Katlego Letebele, Gert Steyn, Sonwabo Sokoyi (CAPT), Moemagare Motlhodi, Carlton Banies, Rowan Cloete; Cameron Hanekom, Willie Potgieter, Neels Volschenk, Marco de Witt, Ruan Delport, Sivuyise Mabece, Johan Lombard, Juann Else.

IMPACT (16-23): Reuben van der Nest, Corne Lavagna, Johan Louw, Gcinokuhle Mdletshe, Abulele Ndabambi, Tiaan Fourie, Keanan Wentzel, Larry Nkonki.

Leave a Reply