Cookie Consent by Skip to main content

The Vodacom Bulls under-19 will welcome the Toyota Cheetahs under-19 to Loftus Versfeld on Saturday 05 November 2022, for their second-round fixture of the SA Rugby under-19 Cup.

Kick-off is set for 13h00pm CAT.

Head coach, Edgar Marutlulle has said that his side needs to back up their good start to the campaign, remaining patient if they are to go all the way in the significantly competitive youth cup.

“Building onto the great start we had against a really well-coached Western Province side is important for us. The boys know that consistency is one of the key commodities that will help us get the results we have said we wanted from the start of this campaign,”

“We expect that the Cheetahs will come prepared for a physical battle, so we have to be a well-disciplined outfit, staying on top of our game plan to ensure that we give ourselves the best possible chance for a positive result. We believe that we have a system in place that really will help us get to our ultimate goal and because we have so much cohesiveness in the team, I am confident that we will give ourselves the best possible chance at good returns.”

Marutlulle has made two changes to his starting XV whilst there are four new faces to the impact squad that will be coming off the bench.

Open-side flanker, Gcino Mdletshe starts with Pieter Rossouw slotting in at outside centre as both Ghudian Van Reenen and Munashe Dukuswa miss out due to injury. Joshua Eras, Layron Milborrow and Franco Bredenkamp make way for Johan Lombard, Dillon Smith, Shaun Calitz and Regan Izaks as Marutlulle rotates his squad to ensure everyone gets game time.

“Part of our strategy is to make sure that everyone is exposed to as much game time as possible and that means each week we will have to tweak the make-up of our matchday 23, ofcourse we want to do that as effectively and seamlessly as possible” Marutlulle concludes.

Entrance to Loftus for the match is free, all are welcome.

1. Corne Lavagna, 2. Juann Else, 3. Mawande Mdanda, 4. Hanno Theunissen, 5. Corne Beets, 6. Neels Volschenk (c), 7. Gcino Mdletshe, 8. Abulele Ndabambi, 9. Neil Le Roux, 10. Compion Von Ludwig, 11. Adrian Joubert, 12. Gert Steyn, 13. Pieter Rossouw, 14. Lutho Mene, 15. Quewin Nortje (c)

16. Johan Lombard, 17. Mbasa Maqubela, 18. Johan Louw, 19. Haydn Kemp, 20. Dillon Smith, 21. Olwethu Ngwenya, 22. Shaun Calitz, 23. Regan Izaks


Edgar Marutlulle – Head Coach; Hayden Groepes – Attack & backline; Wessel Du Plessis – Head of Juniors, Kicking & Breakdown Coach; Prieur Le Grange – Technical Advisor; Hendy Seerane – Team Manager; Tshepo Mashigo – Logistics Manager; Limbi Seyani – Sport Scientist; Tayla Chidrawi – Strength and Conditioning; Dr Gerhard Louwrens – Doctor; Claudette Echard – Physiotherapist; Darryn Berry – Physiotherapist

Leave a Reply