Cookie Consent by Skip to main content

The Vodacom Bulls have announced their matchday team for #SuperHeroSunday that includes a World Champion, Blitzboks, Vodacom Super Rugby stalwarts and several youthful players who will front up against the Emirates Lions at the FNB Stadium on Sunday, 19 January 2020.


Veteran Springbok flyhalf Morné Steyn will face South African opposition for the first time in seven seasons and will lead a backline that consists of three Springboks and a Blitzbok, in Warrick Gelant, Cornal Hendricks, Ivan van Zyl and Rosko Specman.


The forwards also boast international experience with Scottish capped no.8 Josh Strauss controlling the back of the scrum and Springbok lock Juandré Kruger powering the engine room.


The bench is also loaded with international quality such as Embrose Papier, Dylan Sage and Tim Agaba. Fans can also expect the unleashing of a few exciting and hungry youngsters like loose forward Muller Uys starting in the seven jersey, and Chris Smith together with Ryno Pieterse making an impact of the bench.


Kick-off is 15h15.


Vodacom Bulls: 15. Warrick Gelant, 14. Johnny Kotze, 13. Cornal Hendricks, 12. Burger Odendaal (C), 11. Rosko Specman, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Ivan van Zyl, 8. Josh Strauss, 7. Muller Uys, 6. Wian Vosloo, 5. Juandré Kruger, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Wiehahn Herbst, 2. Jaco Visagie, 1. Simphiwe Matanzima.


Replacements: 16. Johan Grobbelaar, 17. Gerhard Steenekamp, 18. Mornay Smith, 19. Ryno Pieterse, 20. Ruan Nortje/Jean Droste, 21. Embrose Papier, 22. Chris Smith, 23. Divan Rossouw, 24. Dylan Sage, 25. Manie Libbok, 26. Jeandré Rudolph, 27. Abongile Nonkontwana, 28. Tim Agaba.


Vodacom Blue Bulls XV to test depth against Emirates Lions


The Vodacom Blue Bulls XV will face a Emirates Lions XV in preseason warm-up match on Loftus B field on Friday, 17 January 2020.


Kick-off is 14:00.


Vodacom Blue Bulls XV: 15. Richard Kriel, 14. Jade Stighling, 13. Marnus Potgieter,12. Franco Naude, 11. Sebastiaan Jobb, 10. David Coetzer, 9. Marco Jansen van Vuren, 8. Ewan Coetzee, 7. Adre Smith, 6. Ruan Steenkamp (C), 5. Jean Droste, 4. Ian Groenewald, 3. Madot Mabokela, 2. Louis van der Westhuizen, 1. Dayan van der Westhuizen.


Replacements: 16. Corniel Els, 17. Kudzwai Dube, 18. Eduan Swart, 19. Carl Els, 20. Janko Swanepoel, 21. Jaco Labuschangne, 22. Phillip Potgieter, 23. Keagan Johannes, 24. Vaughen Isaacs, 25. Dawid Kellerman, 26. Diego Appollis, 27. Jay-Cee Nel.

Leave a Reply