Cookie Consent by Skip to main content

Nothing went the way of FNB NWU when they suffered a hefty 28-0 defeat to FNB UP-uks at the Fanie du Toit Sports Grounds on Monday 18 March.

FNB Tuks were first to get their name on the score sheet when Johan Grobbelaar mauled his way over the line, giving FNB Tuks a five-point advantage after 10 minutes. FNB NWU’s miscommunication in the line-outs cost them an opportunity to draw level.

Both teams had their fair share of opportunities to score as many tries as possible, but there was no way through the defence. FNB Tuks edged further ahead when Tinus de Beer slotted two penalties to take the score to 11-0 going into half time.

Tinus de Beer got the second half underway when he converted FNB Tuks’ third penalty of the evening, putting them 14-0 up five minutes into the half. Things went from bad to worse for FNB NWU when Damian Bonaparte scored from close range to leave FNB NWU chasing a 21-point deficit with 25 minutes left of play.

FNB NWU had more possession in the second half but bad handling and poor decision making left them with nothing to show for it. Brian Leitch put the final nail in FNB NWU’s coffin when he snuck past their defence to score FNB Tuks’ bonus-point try. De Beer made no mistake with his conversion, to snatch a 28-0 win for FNB Tuks.

FNB Tuks’ win secure their place in second spot going into week eight of the FNB Varsity Cup competition. They are currently in first position however FNB Maties still has a game in hand.

Steers Kinging Moment: Damian Bonaparte (FNB UP-Tuks)
FNB Player That Rocks: Johan Grobbelaar (FNB UP-Tuks).


FNB UP-Tuks: 28 – Tries: Johan Grobbelaar, Damian Bonaparte, Brian Leitch; Conversion: Tinus de Beer; Penalties: de Beer (3).


FNB NWU: 15. Chuiner van Rooyen, 14. Lungelo Gosa, 13. Evardi Boshoff, 12. Akhona Nela, 11. Lincoln Daniels, 10. Schalk Hugo, 9. Chriswill September, 8. Wian Conradie, 7. Reuben du Plooy, 6. Gideon van der Merwe, 5. Danny du Plooy, 4. Johan Retief, 3. Matimu Manganyi, 2. Louis van der Westhuizen (c), 1. Botter Moloto.

Replacements: 16. Marius Stander, 17. Nelius Theron, 18. Robert Hunt, 19. Wandi Mazibuko, 20. Edmund Rheeder, 21. Eugene Hare, 22. BF van Staden, 23. Nkululeko Mcuma.

FNB UP-Tuks: 15. Damian Bonaparte, 14. Irvin Ali, 13. Lourens Pretorius, 12. Erich Cronje, 11. Claran Dayaram, 10. Tinus de Beer, 9. Theo Maree, 8. Denzel Hill, 7. Hanru Sirgel, 6. Stephan Smit, 5. Ruan Nortje, 4. Marius Verwey (c), 3. Jean-Pierre Smith, 2. Johan Grobbelaar, 1. Etienne Janeke.

Replacements: 16. Werner Fourie, 17. JJ Eloff, 18. Bart le Roux, 19. Brian Leitch, 20. Raegan Oranje, 21. Christo Hamman, 22. Xolisa Guma, 23. Mihlali Stamper.

Leave a Reply