Cookie Consent by Skip to main content

Vodacom Bulls flanker, Reinhardt Ludwig, will make his Vodacom United Rugby Championship debut in the South African North versus South derby where the side will take on DHL Stormers at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

The 19-year-old, who has been a key figure in the Vodacom Bulls’ Under-20 side over the past year, is an exciting addition to a strong Vodacom Bulls side that will look to begin their 2022 campaign in the cross-hemisphere competition. There will be no shortage of experience alongside him, with Arno Botha starting at openside flanker while Elrigh Louw will at No8.

Springbok centre, Cornal Hendricks, will captain the side this weekend.

Tighthead prop, Mornay Smith, will make a return to the starting XV, where he will buckle down alongside loosehead prop, Gerhard Steenekamp, and hooker, Johan Grobbelaar, to make up the front row trio.

David Kriel makes a return to the familiar fullback position, combining with wingers, Kurt-Lee Arendse and Madosh Tambwe, to make up the back three.

Vodacom Bulls director of rugby, Jake White said: “The rivalry between the Vodacom Bulls and DHL Stormers always sets us up for an exhilarating encounter. This weekend will be no different, and to begin the year in the Vodacom United Rugby Championship against a quality side like the DHL Stormers will be important in determining where we are as a team after the end-year break.

“While we look forward to entertaining the 2000 spectators who will be at Loftus Versfeld, we can only hope that we will soon see the numbers increase and we return to some form of normality, which is important for commercially, for sponsors, fans and all rugby stakeholders.”

The Vodacom Bulls team to face DHL Stormers is:

Starters (15-9; 1-8): David Kriel (Betway Centurion), Madosh Tambwe (Pretoria), Lionel Mapoe (Pretoria), Cornal Hendricks (Northam, CAPT), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Betway Centurion), Chris Smith (Harlequins), Embrose Papier (FNB Tuks); Gerhard Steenekamp (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Johan Grobbelaar (FNB Tuks), Mornay Smith (Betway Centurion), Walt Steenkamp (Tuine), Ruan Nortje (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Arno Botha (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Reinhardt Ludwig (FNB Tuks), Elrigh Louw (FNB Tuks).

Impact (16-23): Bismarck du Plessis (Betway Centurion), Lizo Gqoboka (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Jacques van Rooyen (Tuine), Janko Swanepoel (Pretoria), Marcell Coetzee (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Zak Burger (Tuine), Morné Steyn (Tuine), Harold Vorster (Northam).

Leave a Reply